5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

A/C Problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2011, 03:52 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default A/C Problems

so i've had my truck for a week and really enjoying it. other then the fact that my a/c is giving me problems. i put gauges on it and it appeared to be overcharged, running high discharge pressure (350+psi) and a high suction pressure (70+ psi) so i took a little liquid out of it and got the pressures back to what their supposed to look like (40 degree saturation suction temperature) and a 300-350 psi high side. still giving me problems. my accumulator isn't sweating like it should be and not blowing cold, but cool air in the cab. now i do air conditioning for a living so i know i know what i'm doing as to what ive done so far, but i don't do vehicle air condition. my question is that i noticed today that the driver side is blowing cool, but the passenger side is blowing hot. almost like the heater is stuck half open or something. but then i thought if the heater were stuck halfway open i'd be getting the same temp thru all vents corrrect? i don't have the schematics for it all so i'm guessing. what fuses are related to the air conditioning to i might check those. i checked the condensor and it's clean and clear of debree, i need to get in and check the evaporator. any suggestions in next steps would be appreciated.

also, why i've got your attention, break lights on my passenger side do not work. i have running lights but no break lights on tailights or headache rack. also, when i hooked up the the trailer yesterday it had running passenger side lights but no break lights. so i'm not getting power back their to them. is their a dedicated fuse for the passenger break lights or do i need to start troubleshooting the wiring for shorts?