5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

New to diesels, I'm thinking Cummins

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2015, 03:26 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to diesels, I'm thinking Cummins

I'm new to diesels, and I'll be in the market for a daily driver within the next year or so. I have started my research, and my budget will allow me to get a diesel within the years of 03-08, give or take. I'd prefer to get one with low miles (under 150k), and the Cummins has stuck out to me as perhaps the best option. Powerstrokes seem unreliable, Duramaxs are hard to find, and Cummins seems to have the best, most reliable engine out there. All bias aside, please tell me about your experience driving one (especially if you have used it as a DD), and if you think it would be worth the buy. One reason I have stayed away from Fords is because I have seen so many posts saying to put $4k worth of engine mods from the get-go in order to have a reliable engine..I do NOT want to have to dump a bunch of money into an unreliable truck after buying it to make it reliable. Please tell me of your experience and if you think tbe Cummins would be right for me, and tell me how many miles would be a good buy.

Old 05-23-2015, 08:10 PM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts