5.9 Liter CR Dodge Cummins 03-07 Discussion of 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Common Rail Injection

No Start/cold start issues 2004 5.9 HPCR

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2015, 09:48 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
help No Start/cold start issues 2004 5.9 HPCR

Trying to help a friend with her 2004 Dodge Ram 2500 2WD 5.9 HPCR Cummins.

Cold start/no start issues.

I’m new to Cummins so please bear with me! I’ll try to explain as much as I can and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction to save her money!

250,000 miles, no problems ever.

Recently cold weather has seen poor start/no start and it seems to be many folks here in Ontario have had starting issues of late.

Temperature here has been hitting lows -25 C, -5 F for the past few weeks with highs of about -10C, 5 F

Checked block heater. It works. Engine does get warm within an hour.

Checked Air Intake Heater. Works. But…one day while checking, volts from ECM to both relays read only 3.5V. That day, truck was in the garage out of the cold with a space heater underneath the engine.

Changed fuel filter. Housing did have fuel in it when drained.

Before putting in new filter, turned on key and fuel was coming into the housing.

Left truck outside, plugged in overnight. Was -23 C and truck started in the am, no problem. Did not drive it, left it there plugged in until afternoon and it would not start.

Started truck one evening after being plugged in. Truck went to store to get fuel conditioner/anti-gel stuff. Started when she came out. Drove the truck home. Shut it off. It would not start 30 mins later.

Starting seems intermittent.

Turns over fine. Always at least 150 RPM as charger is put on batteries at night.

Would not start last night after being plugged in all day.

Unplugged FCA and tried. No Start.

Gave it a small shot of ether. Started within 5 seconds.