24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

Vacuum Problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2011, 03:41 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Vacuum Problem

Hello, I'm not a diesel mechanic. This is my first Diesel. I've worked on many cars in my day but never a diesel. I'm sure I could find my way around it like I have so far with minor problems and maintenance.

I have a problem that started just over a week ago. Driving along I would punch the pedal some what and it would start spuddering like it was sucking air from a disconnected vacuum line. I've had this problem before on a couple of cars in the past. So its like riding a bike. You don't forget what it feels like. I know a bad fuel line can feel like it too. I've already checked that.

I did find two sections of vacuum line hose deteriorating and crumbling to the touch. So I replace them. But I still have the problem. I understand that the vacuum line on a diesel is nothing like on a gas engine, so I hear. I had the truck inspected today and the mechanic shop that does all our work on the cars said they couldn't work on the truck because of this reason.

So I am looking for someone to give me an idea where possible to look first. I have the layout of the vacuum lines for that year. I could easily trace them and see what I find but there is one thing that strikes me to think it might be some thing more specific as far as location.

When I am driving the truck a couple of things happen when it starts spuddering.
#1 it doesn't do it until the diesel is warmed up.
#2 It's okay cruising until I want to over take another vehicle or from the start of a green light.
#3 It is worst going up hill.

Any thoughts are welcome. Thank you in advance.

Old 12-02-2011, 05:29 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 180 Likes on 149 Posts

Welcome to DB.