24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

If You Just Bought Your First Diesel?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2011, 04:28 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default If You Just Bought Your First Diesel?

If you just bought your first diesel what is the first thing you would do to it performance wise? Be specific because i'm new to this whole diesel thing. I just want to make it fast and everybody always tells me what to get but I'm not sure what order im supposed to get all this **** in. is there anything specific i should get first, second, third?

Old 08-27-2011, 04:56 PM
Diesel Wrench
Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts

Fuel system upgrade and gauges together first, tranny work whether it be auto or manual (not as crucial on a manual but still should look at a clutch if yours is an older clutch, and if planning big power look into the input shaft and 13in upgrade), Intake and exhaust, doesn't have to be together but better to do both, then some fuel, whether it be a chip or injectors, if you go injectors i'd stay around 100's on a stock turbo. If you want to run big sticks with a tuner then turbo, etc. If it's an auto a i'd swap the hy for the hx also before doing fuel but you can get by with the hy just personal opinion.

Old 08-27-2011, 04:58 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 180 Likes on 149 Posts

Welcome to DB.

Before you dive into the fast zone. The first thing you need is a good lift pump(Airdog or FASS) this is the thing that supplys your injection pump with good fuel pressure and flow. I broken or burned up injection pump will set you back a nice $1,000 big ones. A fuel pressure gauge is a must to make your performance upgrades enjoyable.

Next you need gauges you can do a Edge Juice with Attitude works well it will give you gauges and performance or you can do analog gauges and a Edge comp box.

What type of transmission do you have ?