24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

new to 5.9 cummins and want to beef it up , newbie here.

Old 05-10-2013, 07:06 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to 5.9 cummins and want to beef it up , newbie here.

Good day fellas. soon to be the big day. dropping a 98.5 5.9 cummins 24V in my chevy 97 k style. i do not have block number 53" so thank god. now i know about the vp44 pumps how you cant let them starve for fuel. im use to the old 6.5 detroit diesels. i wanna beef up the cummins and get roughly 350- 400hp whp. now it is a 5 speed.

for the lift pump , whats the average fuel presure should the vp44 get at wot. im looking to buy a carter 150gpm fuel pump at 16 psi. cant afford them high priced airdogs. wouuld that do ? i will have fuel presure gauge.

for injectors. now do injectors make that much of a diff? what is it just bigger nozzle tips? cause if so i can buy nozzle tips "200hp" and swap out my stock nozzles on my current injectors. and whats the pop pressure they should be set at??

exhaust . i will have a 4" DP with 4 " straight pipe back

safe EGT's ive heard 1400*F correct?

Turbo. i have an hx40 thats gonna be installed on it. now my question is. how do i control the boost pressurre? is it the more fuel the boost will climb automaticly?( with a chip ) ?

whats max boost i should be seeing on a stock cummins. no ARP studs****

Now for chips. i hear people comboing chips togethor? like a smarty with an edge how is that possible and why ? dont you use only one ?

AGain im NEW to cummins and i want to learn like everyone else. so taker easy on me, i do understand when talking motors , i am an auto mechanic. now please bare with me and help me tune up my cummins

Thanks guys if theres anything else i should know please add onnn !

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

Carter P4601HP Carter Competition Series Electric Fuel Pumps