24 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 98.5-02 Discussion of 24 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with VP44 Injection Pumps
Sponsored by Trailer Plus

Engine died while driving.

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2012, 04:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine died while driving.

I was driving home from work the other night and my engine just died without any warning. No sputter, or struggle to get fuel, it just died. It would turn over but not crank.

After messing around under the hood for a couple minutes, not really doing anything but looking, it started back up. I drove about 50 feet and it died again.

This time I turned the bleeding valve on the fuel filter canister, again not knowing what the hell I was doing. I also checked my air filter because why the hell not, I'm not a mechanic.

This time it started up again. I drove it to the closest parking lot and called my wife to follow me home. It ran great for the 15 minutes I sat waiting for her, and then for another 7 or 8 miles. It died again about 3 houses down from my driveway.

I then checked my fuel filter, again not knowing what I am looking for. I'm pretty sure all I did here was introduce air to the fuel system. I couldn't get it to start again no matter how much I bump started it to fill the filter canister back up.

Today after so reading I started bleeding the fuel lines. I did this for a couple hours without any luck. Then I took another look at the air filter, left the housing cracked open and tried to start it. It started for the first time in a couple days. I was able to pull into my driveway, park and idle for a few minutes before shutting her down.

As far as engine codes go, I bought the truck about 3 years ago and have only put 4,000 miles since. I checked the codes and had 4 or 5 of them, one of them being p1688. I'm hoping I only got this code because of the air I foolishly got into the fuel lines, not because my injector pump is dying.