1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

How exactly do you install a EGT, tranny fuel pressure and boost gauge?

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2009, 10:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How exactly do you install a EGT, tranny fuel pressure and boost gauge?

It has been recommended to me that I install all these gauges before I go wild in turning my truck up.

Can anyone give me step by step instructions on how to do it properly?

I also need to know how to wire them, and where to splice into if I need to do that. I have been told that a lot of people use the cigarette lighter as their power source. Well mine doesn't work, I think it is a blown fuse, so how exactly do i change fuses on these trucks? How can I tell where the cigarette lighter fuse is? (sorry, this is my first time dealing with electrical things, and diesels.)

Thanks guys!

Old 07-03-2009, 11:28 PM
Diesel Bomber
Received 96 Likes on 74 Posts

i wouldnt use the cigarette lighter as a power source. Try to drill your hole for the exhaust probe before the turbo if you can. For the boost gauge, there is a place to hook it into, I just cant remember where. Somebody will chime in here and help out some more. Ive never done the tranny gauge so idk about that one

Old 07-03-2009, 11:49 PM
BOMBARDIER
Received 279 Likes on 256 Posts

most of the guages come with instuctions to install them, like jason said tap the exhaust manifold before the turbo...there are plugs in the intake manifold for you use to hook up your boost guage, and i know on second gens there are plugs on the passenger side of the tranny for the guage to hook into...but i imagine the 1st gens are alot different and you may have to tap your tranny somewhere else for the guage

Old 07-04-2009, 01:21 AM
Diesel Bomber
Received 371 Likes on 264 Posts