1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

Issue with throttle sticking

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2014, 11:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Issue with throttle sticking

I'll try and make this as clear as possible. I'm new to these VE pumps and I am not sure what some of the components are called.

Yesterday, I drove down south. Where I live the outside temperature averages maybe mid 60s-and that's what it was yesterday. I got to where I was going about 100 miles away and it was in the mid 80's down there.

Went into a four wheeling park and started putting around a little bit, and my throttle started sticking about maybe 200 rpm or so from idle. The pedal wasn't coming all the way back up and it also felt tougher than normal, I think.

I pulled off to the side, opened the hood, went to the linkage connected to the pump, and pulled the throttle all the way shut, shut down the motor, and let the truck cool for a few minutes.

After a bit, I got back inside, fired the motor up, all was good and normal till about 10 minutes in and it started happening again, so again, I pulled off to the side and pulled the throttle all the way shut at the pump, and left the hood open and let everything cool again. I took off, and it happened again and it was time to go, so I left the park.

It might just be me and the heat maybe had nothing to do with it. But after I got on the street to come home it was perfectly fine. It was almost like the spring on the pump didn't have enough pressure to return it all the way.