1st Generation Dodge Cummins 89-93 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with Rotary Injection Pumps

Ve pump tuning and other bits.....

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2014, 05:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ve pump tuning and other bits.....

Hi
I have a 98 and a 99 cummins 6bt engine. Both have ve pumps, 12v, and put out about 150 bhp.

I want to tune them to above 260 bhp, but not increase revs if possible, as its a marine use.

Can anyone give me a list of best changes.

I am assuming it will involve tuning the ve pump and replacing injectors, possibly also increasing the boost on the turbo?

I am new to this engine so any advise would be welcome!
Thanks

Old 01-20-2014, 11:04 AM
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 29 Likes on 28 Posts

Hard one to answer considering marine applications can be anything from a little to a lot different from the motor vehicle applications.
160HP is your standard 1st gen power output which makes me wonder about your VE injection pumps at 150. Your engines may just be "detuned" like the 1st gens are and you can gain quite a bit of power just by turning up the injection pump. As the governor is set by spring tension, your RPM will not change unless you mess with it our the throttle linkage.

Old 01-20-2014, 11:38 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I stand to be corrected but i thought first gen engines where all pretty much the same. when the isb came out they did a very special engine, the qsb, that was destined for marine use.

I am also a bit confused as to the rating of the engine, they are out of dafs, so i am assuming its metric hp not american hp as per factory spec. as such i assume its base spec.

that being said recommendations on best results regarding tweaking the pump and changing the injectors would be appreciated, not forgetting waste pump on turbo. I am happy to learn from others experience on this!
Any other known problems and mods would also be welcome...
thanks

Old 01-21-2014, 09:19 AM
Diesel Fan