12 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 94-98 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with P7100 Injection Pumps

P-Pump leaking oil

Old 05-30-2013, 09:19 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default P-Pump leaking oil

I am currently working on a piece of equipment that has a 12V Cummins with a P-Pump. It was brought to my attention that it "leaked oil very bad". Upon further investigation I found that when the engine is running there is a steady stream of oil seeping out just below the injector pump. This is my first time to remove an injector pump from a Cummins engine. I did lots of research on how to pull the pump and keep it all in time. However, after removing the pump I have several questions that I can't seem to find answers to.

It appears to me that the injector pump seals off with an O-ring in the timing housing instead of using a traditional gasket against the face of the housing?

I understand this pump is oil lubricated, where does the oil enter the pump at?

The "plate" on the pump that has the O-ring around it is held on with 4 torx screws. With the pump on a table I can grab the O-ring/plate and twist it a few degrees back and forth. The screws are tight but there seems to be "slop" in the bolt holes is this normal?

It seems that the pump is leaking because the timing housing has a grove in it where the O-ring should seat/seal. Is this common or is it because of the slop on the O-ring plate? Is there a sleeve kit to fix this or will I be forced to replace the timing cover?

Thanks, Forrest

Old 05-30-2013, 09:44 AM
Diesel Bombers Sponsor
Received 367 Likes on 251 Posts

Originally Posted by exoticwelding