12 Valve 2nd Gen Dodge Cummins 94-98 Discussion of 12 Valve 5.9 Liter Dodge Cummins Diesels with P7100 Injection Pumps

97 12valve tappet cover oil leak

Old 01-05-2013, 08:02 PM
Diesel Fan
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 97 12valve tappet cover oil leak

my 97 12 valve seems to be leaking i think i need to take off injector pump does anyone know for sure thanks i am not a diesel mechanic but willing to tackle pretty much anything any advise appreciated thanks in advance

Old 01-05-2013, 08:55 PM
Diesel Bombers Sponsor
Received 367 Likes on 251 Posts

Fairly easy job when using factory timing! Remove the pump and reseal the tappet cover. Make sure you clean the pump shaft and gear well. You'll need a pump gear puller.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

Old 01-05-2013, 09:00 PM
Diesel Fan

thanks kind of what i thought but wasnt quite sure thanks for the help

---AutoMerged DoublePost---

one other thing do you know if there is a bracket on the rear of the pump

Last edited by pro fire guy; 01-05-2013 at 09:00 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Old 01-05-2013, 09:02 PM
Diesel Bombers Sponsor

Originally Posted by pro fire guy
thanks kind of what i thought but wasnt quite sure thanks for the help

one other thing do you know if there is a bracket on the rear of the pump
Theres one at the bottom of the pump with 2 long 10mm bolts. You'll use the pinned timing method, its very easy but finding tdc can be a pain the first few times.

Old 01-05-2013, 09:05 PM
Diesel Fan

thanks i will let you know how it goes probably tackle next weekend thanks very much

Old 01-08-2013, 10:36 PM
Fox
Diesel Enthusiast
Received 4,294,967,295 Likes on 7 Posts

in my advice... to make things easier. Go ahead and try to find one of the nice metal TDC timing pins. The plastic ones leave so much room for error.

Old 01-10-2013, 05:52 AM
Diesel Fan